

PO Box 189 1044 N. Main Street Henderson, NE 68371 Phone: (402) 723-5782

Fax: (402) 723-5785
E-Mail: henderson@mainstaycomm.net

A special meeting of the Mayor and City Council of the City of Henderson, Nebraska was held at 11:00 a.m. on March 21, 2023 at City Hall in Henderson, Nebraska. Notice of this meeting was posted at City Hall, Post Office and Foodmart.

Mayor Corbin Tessman called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. Mayor Tessman declared the meeting to be legal and properly advertised with all members having been informed of the nature of the meeting and having received related information.

Roll call showed the following present: Mayor Corbin Tessman. Council members: Teri Pollet, Brian Hiebner, Kevin J. Friesen and Mitch Huxoll.

The purpose of the special meeting is to consider a commitment letter from the City of Henderson to participate in the Rural Workforce Housing Fund with Southeast Nebraska Development District (SENDD).

SENDD is partnering with five communities/organizations to apply for a Rural Workforce Housing Fund (RWHF) grant to provide matching funds for housing projects. The grant requires 50% match and has a maximum application of \$1 million. Each community/organization would commit \$200,000. The \$2 million returned to the participating communities would be a constant revolving fund for as long as the program exists. Other participating entities would be Fall City, Syracuse, Nebraska City and Thayer County. Henderson would have \$400,000 to utilize in the revolving housing fund and would have a locally appointed person on the application review committee that is responsible for deciding how the revolving funds will be used for all future projects. Applications are due March 23, 2023 with the notification of award at the end of June or early July of 2023. If the application is awarded to SENDD, the \$200,000 will be due at that time.

After consideration, Kevin Friesen made a motion to sign the commitment letter to participate in the RWHF with SENDD. Brian Hiebner seconded. Roll vote: Kevin Friesen, Brian Hiebner, Teri Pollet and Mitch Huxoll. Motion carried.

Teri Pollet made a motion to adjourn. Kevin Friesen seconded. Roll vote: Ayes - Teri Pollet, Kevin Friesen, Mitch Huxoll and Brian Hiebner.

Corbin Tessman, Mayor Connie Brown, City Clerk